Scientific Advisory Board


Dr. Peter Dürre

Dr Dürre has more than 25 years experience in the field of clostridial genetics. Major research projects have included genetics and function of ATPases, cell differentiation (spore formation) in clostridia, regulation of acetone and butanol formation in Clostridium acetobutylicum and metabolic engineering of solvent-producing strains for industrial use. He holds diplomas in microbiology, biochemistry and organic chemistry. Following his PhD he went to the University of California, Berkeley as a postdoctoral fellow with the German Research Council. Peter Dürre is currently Professor of Microbiology and head of the Microbiology and BioTechnology Departments at Ulm University in Germany. He is the editor of Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology and the Senior Editor of Journal of Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology. He is also the author and co-author of more than 90 research articles and reviews as well as being editor of the books 'CRC Handbook on Clostridia', 'Clostridia-Biotechnology and Medical Applications', 'Nucleic Acids Isolation Methods', and 'Regulatory Networks in Prokaryotes'.

Dr. Ian Maddox

Ian Maddox is a fermentation technologist. After working in the brewing and pharmaceutical industries in UK, Ian joined Massey University as an industrial microbiologist/fermentation technologist. His research activities during the last 25 years have focussed on the production of butanol by fermentation using Clostridia (in excess of 50 publications), and also on some aerobic fermentations. Most of his published research has concentrated on fermentation technology, but he has also published on the physiology of some important microorganisms, including the butanol-producing clostridia.


Dr. Nigel Minton

Dr. Minton’s work on the molecular genetics of clostridia spans over 30 years. Early research was at the Centre for Applied Microbiology (CAMR), Porton Down, where his work culminated in heading the Department of Molecular Microbiology. In 2004 Dr Minton relocated to the University of Nottingham, where he established the Clostridia Research Group (CRG). The CRG now comprises some 34 postdoctoral and postgraduate scientists, and represents one of the largest single research groups focussed on the molecular biology of Clostridia in the world.  

Dr. Minton, has previously coordinated 3 EU consortia in BAP and FP6, including a  Marie Curie SCF “CLOSTRIDIA”, and currently coordinates the FP7 Cooperation grant  “HYPERDIFF” (HEALTH-F3-2008-223585), a Marie Curie ITN “CLOSTNET” and is vice-coordinator of the ERA-NET SysMO2 programme, “COSMIC2”.  He is part of the Centre for Healthcare Associated Infections (CHAI), is the Scientific Programme Leader on C. difficile research within the Nottingham Digestive Diseases Centre NIHR Biomedical Research Unit (NDDC BRU), and programme leader of one of the six research hubs that together make up the BBSRC Sustainable Bioenergy Centre. 


Dr.Rudolf K. Thauer

Rudolf K. Thauer obtained his Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Freiburg in Germany, it was here he did his postdoctoral work with Karl Decker. His key research areas include biochemistry, physiology and ecology of anaerobic bacteria and archaea with a focus on the enzymes and coenzymes involved in the energy metabolism of Clostridia, of sulfate-reducing bacteria and archaea, of methanogenic and methanotrophic archaea, and of aerobic methanotrophic bacteria. He is the author of over 400 publications and the recipient of numerous awards, including the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft in 1987. In 2008 he was awarded the Carl Friedrich Gauß-Medal from the Brunswick Scientific Society. In 1991 he became founding director of the Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology in Marburg where he is currently the Emeritus group leader. He is also a Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center (GLBRC) in Madison, Wisconsin.